Apr 12, 2024 12:15 PM
Mia Del Prete hosts Teacher of the Year Awards
West Sonoma County Teacher of the Year Awards, hosted by Mia Del Prete and the TYA Committee

The Sebastopol Rotary Education Foundation funds the Teacher of the Year Awards.

The goal of these awards is to recognize the skills and dedication of West County teachers who engage our children and provide the kind of education experience that will be the foundation for a productive and happy life.

Starting in 2020, we changed our selection criteria.  There are now four (4) awards:

  • New Teacher (5 years or less of teaching experience)
  • Innovative/Collaborative Teacher(s) 

  • Career Service Teacher (more than 5 years of teaching experience)

Each year the Sebastopol Rotary Education Foundation asks parents, teachers, administrators, students, and community members associated with every elementary and secondary school in West County to nominate teachers who have had a great career, who have shown promise in their first three years in the profession and who have championed innovations that have improved instruction or school life.